Walk Two Moons Review

I’m back! We’re starting right back where we left off at the end of the C’s with Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech. I selected this book because it was awarded a Newbery medal in 1995, and a friend suggested it.

CRE - Walk Two Moons Cover

I thought this book was okay. Creech weaves the story of all her characters together in a way that is well done, and tells an excellent story that mixes missing mothers, depression, romance, and metaphors for the unexpected adventures of life together in this book. I do not normally read realistic fiction, and I feel that that is why this book fell flat for me. I felt it took forever to start moving the plot along, the romance between Sal and Ben felt forced, and Sal, a thirteen-year-old, drives four hours down a dangerous road on her own just after her grandmother was admitted to the hospital. I don’t know about you, but if my grandmother was admitted to the hospital and I was worried about her health I do not think my thirteen-year-old self would be able to think straight enough to make that kind of trip.

Leave a comment