The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle Review

Here we are at the end of the As! There were several books that caught my attention on this shelf (Animorphs!), but I really wanted to read something by Avi, since I’ve heard so much about this author. I wanted to read Poppy, the first novel in the Dimwood Forest series, but it was checked out! Instead I picked up The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle.

AND - AVI

I really enjoyed this book! Avi is a fantastic storyteller and I felt truly immersed in the story. The content was geared more for a middle level audience, as it does get a bit violent with two deaths and a whipping. I found Charlotte Doyle to be an interesting character caught in a peculiar circumstance. In the beginning she is an obedient schoolgirl on her way back home to America to return to her family, but by the end she becomes independent and no longer feels as though she should confine herself to society’s expectations of what she should be. A positive message I think young minds today need to see. The ending was a major surprise, and I’m honestly not sure how I would have reacted had I been in a similar situation.

While reading this book I felt it was somewhat similar to Paula Fox’s The Slave Dancer. Anyone interested in historical fiction or living while at sea would enjoy both of these novels.

Leave a Reply

